Skip to content

Nefarian the Easy Way (10N strategy)

May 13, 2011

If you can jump out of lava you can do Nefarian.

I haven’t written much about Nefarian and that’s because he died for us the first night of attempts.  We 4 shot him.   For us, a casual 10’s raiding group (casual 6 hours of raids a week), it was the easiest end boss we encountered in T11 Cataclysm.

While looking up strats on the different player forums,  I found a great number of people looking for advice on how to do Nefarian 10N.  My poor old guild, still doing 25s, have been on Nefarian for quite some time now –  So I know it’s a hard fight for a lot of people on both 10’s and 25’s.

I hope to give you a Resto Shaman / healer point of view of how to do Nefarian 10N the Easy Way.

To start with, this is the strat post I posted on our guild blog.

Lineup –

The real secret to doing Nef the easy way is by bringing a 4th healer.  You might have a couple hybrid classes that can change from DPS to Heal, Tank to Heal, or Dps to Tank.  Flexibility in your lineup is key to progression on limited raid time in 10’s.  If you don’t have a hybrid or two that can help out, does one of your DPS have a geared Healer alt?  In our case, the Warlock has switched mains to his geared Shadow Priest for our raid group.  For Nef, he specced Holy.

Another big help is to have a DK who can serve as the kiter for ph1.  In my opinion, a Frost DK with Chillblains is one of the most helpful utility classes you can have in your lineup.  I imagine a DPS specced Warrior with Piercing Howl and in Definsive Stance could also work in a pinch.

If you have a good kiter for adds in Ph1 and a 4th healer, Nefarian should be quite easy.  (Assuming your raid can interrupt and jump out of lava.)

Our healers consist of a Disc Priest, a Resto Druid, a Resto Shaman, and a Holy Priest (4th Healer).

Our tanks consist of a Bear, and a Prot Pally.

Our DPS consist of 2 Hunters, a Mage, and a Frost DK (kiter).

As a shaman, you will probably want to have tanks and anyone else who will be on your Ph2 platform in your group with you.  I always ask for a raid assist so I can change the groups for Healing Stream totem coverage.

Healing Ph1 – what I did

Because the multiple tanks are not always in range of each other, in a rare T11 moment, healing assignments were given.

  1. Disc Priest on Nefarian Tank and kiter when in range,
  2. Resto Druid focus on kiter with cross heals when in range of other tanks,
  3. Resto Shaman and Holy Priest on Onyxia tank.

Our healing assignments are very loose.

As a resto shaman, I healed as little as possible, trying to keep tanks topped off for electrocutes and trying to drop healing rain where it would hit most of the range/ healers.  I mixed in some Chain Heal where I could to top the range clump off.  I had time to regen my mana with a few lightning bolts.  I kept Riptide on cooldown to always have charge of Tidal Wave available to quickly respond to incoming tank damage with Greater Healing Wave.  I used Stone Claw Totem (glyphed) to ensure my survival on electrocutes.

In our strat, we took Nef down through two electrocutes and then switched to quickly kill Onyxia.  I dropped Mana Tide near the end of Phase 1 and when Ph1 ended Nef was at approximately  75% health.

Healing Ph2 –

We had the platforms preassigned and raid marked to make sure that interrupts and heals would be covered on each platform.

There are thee platforms, and you will want to put 3 raiders on two of them and 4 raiders on the 3rd platform.  The platform which has 4 on it will have two healers.  In our case, I was healing one platform, the disc priest was on another, and the holy priest and resto druid were on the 4th platform.

The hunters switched to Nature Resist aspect for the electrocutes and I had the other two players that would be on the same platform as myself in Group 1 with me so that they would benefit from Healing Stream totem.  It made healing the platform trivial.

After moving over to the platform at the transition from Ph1 to Ph2, I dropped Healing Stream totem so that we would get some free healing and fire resistance as the lava started to fill the room.  The prot pally kept his health up pretty well with WoG and cooldowns.  The mage required more healing but even iceblocked once to help out.  I kept Riptides rolling on us and Chain Healed for some very mana effecient healing.  I used my Tidal Wave charges from RT and CH to use more expensive heals if someone dipped low.  It would be possible to regen some mana with Telluric Currents but I didn’t feel the urgency as I was being extra careful not to loose anyone to the infamous and feared “Crackle”.  Again, I used Stoneclaw Totem for Electrocutes.

I felt very competent healing the platforms, probably because of my gearing focus on Mastery and the recent 4.1 changes.

We kept 1 platform add alive longer to push Nefarian’s health lower in Ph2.

Healing Ph3-

Ph3 was pretty easy even though the healers were running out of mana towards the end.  The Bear Tank was on Nefarian and the Pally Tank was tanking (not kiting) the adds, freeing the DK to DPS fulltime.  The Resto Druid was assigned to the Pally Tank along with the Holy Priest and the Disc Priest and myself focused on healing the Bear.  I was able to get another Mana Tide totem down in Ph3.  We probably could have done a little bit better job of rotating raid and healing cooldowns for Electrocutes.  This phase felt like it was basically a burn phase with pressure on the DPS to kill him before the 4 healers ran out of mana.

Additional Notes:

We wiped a few times by not being able to jump out of the lava and even losing people on platforms.  I really don’t know why.  When I asked over vent how people died, one healer replied “Their health bars went to zero.”  Not very informative…  Next attempt was the first kill so whatever the problem was it got fixed.

We didn’t have any issue with missing interrupts or bad kiting.  Or maybe if there were mistakes on kiting the 4 healers covered for it?  That’s the advantage of bringing 4.

We also had enough DPS to allow bringing a 4th healer.  If you are not able to kill Onyxia before she kills you, try only doing 1 electrocute and see if that helps.  If that doesn’t work you probably have DPS problems, not healing.

I hope you found this strategy helpful.  If you have any specific questions, please leave me a comment below!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2011 1:14 pm

    4 shot? That’s pretty pro!

    How many electrocutes did you have per phase?

    • May 13, 2011 3:08 pm

      2 in ph1, and for the others I don’t remember what the exact breakdown was as I was focusing on healing. 😉 I’ll ask Juanpablo and update this later.

  2. May 16, 2011 1:17 am

    4 trys ? Impressive !

    I didn’t think that the enrage timer allowed the use of a fourth healer, maybe we should have tried that instead of wiping for days on him. I found him harder than Al’akir and Cho’gall combined:/

    Our major difficulty was P3 with the pally tank often finding himself with a single add that kept stacking buffs because of the flames. Once he found how to put all of them down, it was a breeze.

    I still hate swimming in lava, though.

Trackbacks

  1. Good Writeup of the Nefarian Fight « Stone Dogs

Leave a Reply

