Skip to content

Respeccing your Resto Shaman for Patch 4.1

April 26, 2011

4.1: Resto gotta respec for Spirit Link Totem cooldown (far right in tier5)

With the release of patch 4.1 on live servers, all resto shaman will have to respec.  It’s a good opportunity to try something new or reconsider some of your past optional choices.

For myself, I am going to try a point in Ancestral Resolve.

I’d like to have another point for the complete 10% but I don’t feel like I can afford it.  I would invest two points if there were no “while casting spells” requirement.

The real trouble with the pve resto shaman tree is that you have to drop at least 1 point into an optional talent to be able to move down into tier 5.   The choices are: Nature’s Guardian, Focused Insight, Ancestral Resolve, or Cleansing Waters.

4.1: NOW with more situational for your situational talent!

As a pvp-motivated change, Cleansing Waters will receive a 6-second internal cooldown on the heal associated.  For myself as a pve shaman, this talent has lost its appeal.  It still might be worth it for the mana cost reduction… but..  yeah, I don’t think so.

4.1: Mastery benefits all heals -> big buff to Earthliving

If you haven’t updated your glyphs since hitting 85, you might look to get more mileage from your Earthliving procs by trading Prime Glyph of Water Shield for Earthliving Weapon.  If you have enough regen and mastery in your gear, the ELW glyph got much better for you with the change to Deep Healing in 4.1.

4.1: This talent got a big buff as mastery now affects Earthliving.

For  resto shamans at the beginning of Cataclysm, Blessing of the Eternals didn’t seem to0 great for a 2 point investment due to how situational it was.   It will be much more powerful in 4.1.

How are you going to respec in 4.1? 

18 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2011 10:17 am

    Well, I’m definitely taking a point OUT of cleansing waters. I still haven’t made up my mind regarding other talent choices though. I really like the mana regen from LB, so I’m going to leave points in there, but I hardly shock anything, so I’ll be taking my points out of that talent. I’m still not sure I’m buying the usefulness of that Earthliving weapon talent, but I haven’t paid that much attention to the latest Shaman changes.🙂

    • April 26, 2011 10:30 am

      I really like lightning bolt regen talent as well.

      After looking at logs, I’m even considering dropping Ancestral Awakening and putting those points into Acuity and Ancestral Resolve. 🙂

      There are so many options!

  2. April 26, 2011 1:04 pm

    I considered putting the little remaining point in Cleansing Waters, but considering the internal cooldown ended up with exactly your talent template.
    Ancestral Resolve + Spirit Link Totem will result in a nice damage reduction overall, on top of the Stoneclaw shield.

    • April 26, 2011 4:05 pm

      I was just visiting Life in Group 5 and there is a spec mentioned there that is just like mine but takes 3 points out of Ancestral Awakening and puts them into Acuity and Ancestral Resolve.

      I was thinking about it but I love my AA too much. We had too many good times in Wrath together. The animation is pretty awesome, too.

      The full three points in Acuity would make for more Watershield procs, greater uptime on Ancestral fortitude and would improve AA as well. 😉

  3. April 26, 2011 3:54 pm

    I dropped Acuity and put the points in Totemic Reach and Spirit Link. That lets me keep my Telluric Currents and Instant Ghost Wolf. I am thinking about shifting that point in Cleansing Waters into Ancestral Resolve though.

    And somehow when I specced I missed a talent point! WTF? I’ll have to go back and fix that too!

    • April 26, 2011 4:02 pm

      Not to troll you Rhii, but I’m not convinced that totemic reach will do much for me. Why did you take it?

      Too many choices!

      • April 26, 2011 5:10 pm

        I’m trying to make the placement of spirit link a bit easier, but if it doesn’t work I’ll change it later.

      • April 27, 2011 12:34 am

        I thought about that too, Rhii, but found more arguments against than for.

        Whenever there’s heavy single-target damage (where we can get the most efficiency from the toem), then either the raid is packed and everyone is already in the standard radius (Magmaw’s Spit), or everyone tries to avoid staying near the target (Magmatron’s Flamethrower) which will require strategical positionning from your team to make the totem useful.

        On Chimaeron, during the robot’s shutdown, the extra yards you get from the talent could put a tank inside the area of effect, thus endangering him.

        Do you have in mind a particular encounter for this talent ?

      • April 27, 2011 12:32 pm

        I haven’t even had a chance to test drive the totem yet, so I’m going completely by feel!😛

        Also, I did check through some of the tip top resto shamans and at least a few are recommending it (http://manaflask.com/guides/en/shaman/) It’ll be a while before I can really tell how well it works out, I think.

      • April 27, 2011 11:30 pm

        I ran Bastion of Twilight yesterday, and I can confirm two things : the new totem works great to mitigate massive single-target damage, and its range is really REALLY short. I’m used to my Rain’s 30-yard radius, so I often end up miscalculating and being alone with the target inside the totem’s area of effect.
        I’ll probably try Totemic Reach tonight, sacrificing 1 point in Acuity and 1 in Ancestral Awakening or Blessing of the Eternals. Stay tuned for the feedback🙂

      • April 28, 2011 7:46 am

        Will be good to hear your opinion. I’m not convinced 3 more yards will do much. But you are correct, the range is REALLY short.

    • May 2, 2011 6:58 am

      Well, after 2 days of intense dragon&troll-smashing, I’ve decided not to spec in Totemic Reach.
      The extra spirit link range is useless when the party is spread, and on the opposite when the raid is packed (Nefarian’s Electrocute), the 10-yard range is enough.
      Next in the queue : Ancestral Awakening, whose fate on my spec shall be determined by tonight’s logs :s

  4. May 2, 2011 9:05 pm

    I’d like to use this spec: 3/5/33 because it got all the best of PVE-healing that we have.

    • May 3, 2011 6:14 am

      That’s a good spec. Do you miss not having instant ghost-wolf?

      • May 3, 2011 9:09 pm

        Ofc we need instant wolf at some encounters. Exactly it was easier to do Atramedes or smth like this. But if we speak about healing than we need to take a proper skills first. And give up the others.

      • May 4, 2011 6:45 am

        I agree with you. I don’t have a second resto spec so I keep instant wolf in my spec even if it is not needed for some fights.

  5. ShÕcktherapy permalink
    May 31, 2011 12:03 pm

    I have been debating retreeing, and was also considering giving up the speed increase, how is Ancestral Swiftness different than the lavawalker enchant? that may be my way around dropping outta my tree.. maybe.

    • May 31, 2011 2:39 pm

      AS is better than lavawalker because you can get a different boot enchant with more mastery than lavawalker. AS is also double the movement speed increase. On top of all of that, AS makes your ghost wolf an instant cast which is the best reason to get it.

      how is Ancestral Swiftness different than the lavawalker enchant?

Leave a Reply

