Skip to content

WTB Resto Shammy reading material

March 28, 2011

Now that Wugan on Flow has announced that they are officially afk, we are saying goodbye (at least I hope only temporarily) to another one of my formative influences.

 

What's on the other side?

 

Around a year and a half ago is when I would guess was the high point in my Resto Shaman blog reading and consumption.  I had recently faction tranfered my Troll shaman Tronada who was mostly an elemental shaman in Naxx10 and sometimes filling in as resto.  I still curse the days when I would spend 4 GCD’s placing totems before each pull.

The healing was pretty similar in those early days of Wrath to the early days of Cataclysm (10s) if I remember correctly.  There was lots of LHW spot healing, stacking INT & CRIT, feeling much less capable of addressing raid damage as compared to Druids and Priests, and having severe mana longevity issues.

In TOC, my new alliance 25 guild leader said that they were looking to recruit a resto shaman onto the team.  They had been without one since Ulduar.  I offered to switch to healing so that they could avoid having to recruit and I soon delighted in the changes which had been made to the spec since my early days of frustration.

There was a change of healing which took place in Ulduar and everything suddenly pointed to stacking haste and spamming chain heal.  My favorite blogs at the time were Drug’s Shields Up!, Vixsin’s Life in Group 5, and Wugan’s Flow.  I eagerly awaited each new post to pop up on my Google reader.

And while I’d like to quote Drug from Shields Up! directly on chain healing, sadly, the domain is up for sale and the posts are gone.  (If anyone has the posts archived I’d love to read them again).

However, the advice that has stuck with me from reading all of my resto shaman teachers (Drug, Vixsin, and Wugan ) is:

Bad shamans mindlessly spam Chain Heal.

Good shamans use the best tool for the job.

This kind of advice rang true to me and it felt great knowing that I was going into raids armed with knowledge and a healing philosophy.  I was playing with some very good healers at the time and this only pushed me to be better.  Eventually I found myself in a position where I had proved myself and people even began to ask me for guidance in their own restoshamanisitc pursuits.

Besides from the EJ Theorycrafting Think Tank (which used to be very good in Wrath) and the above mentioned three authors, these were my two favorite posts that I would recommended:

1. Mastering Shaman Healing by Drug

Leap into Resto Shaman healing with some good reads

One of the best pieces I have ever read about Resto Shaman or Healers.  A small selection:

Don’t just react to everything happening around you, learn to see what’s happening,

who’s standing where, who’s in desperate need of healing and which fellow healer is in distress and might need help with his task.

and my new favorite shaman blog, by Vixsyn called Life in Group 5
2. Raiders’ Answer Bag (updated to the new mailbag)

For new or aspiring shamans-

If you are thinking about joining the ranks of the BEST healers in Cataclysm and rolling Resto, check out my side bar for links to my favorite sources of information and reading material.  Any specific questions you’d like to see answered?

For the healing veterans-

Are there any resources that you’d recommend to aspiring shamans?

If you know of another good blog, please recommend it in the comment section below!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 6:48 pm

    Jadiera at Totem Forest.com is awesome, also Laerith at Totemic Grace (totemicgrace.wordpress.com) is up and coming and very very good, I think. I really do like Lodur at World of Matticus when he posts shaman stuff – he’s on WoWInsider too but I can’t keep up with the big sites they move to quickly for me. And lastly, I’ve been a mainspec resto shaman for a while now, and my has occasional resto content, although I really don’t consider myself a class expert type of blogger.

    The restos are out there!

    • March 30, 2011 2:55 am

      I’m enjoying your blog.

      You mentioned 3 that are already on my blog roll! You obviously have great taste. An absent resto shaman just came back this week, BLUEBERRYtotem!

      • March 31, 2011 12:49 pm

        Blueberry is back ? Great !

  2. March 29, 2011 4:09 pm

    I have to say that it’s really great to see more up and coming bloggers like yourself that could potentially fill the void of others that are leaving the game or just closing up shop on their blogs.

    Hell, I’m still up and coming! I don’t profess to be a big deal or anything of the sort.

    I would like to think that we could do a good job of injecing some new life into the blogsophere (if we haven’t already) and hopefully give others something else to turn to for enjoyment or advice.

    Keep on doing what you’re doing, sir!

    • March 30, 2011 12:07 am

      Thanks for the encouragement, O. Good luck with raiding with your new guild tonight. You’ll do great, I know it!

      Do you know of any other bloggers that you would recommend to follow?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

