Skip to content

Fet the guck off (GTFO addon review)

February 28, 2011

We know what I tell you to stand in and now I’m gonna tell you what to GTFO of.

Is this guy in your raid?
Pryomancer

If you raid in a casual, friendly guild as I do –

We raid with healers whose situational awareness is not anything worth writing home about – and we’ve all tasted our fair share of wipes due to it.

Healers struggle with tunnel vision, even this Restoration shaman.  You know the old story of the healer who died horribly in a fire because she was too focused on clicking on those little squares.

Healers and Raiders should try to cut down on their visual information clutter.  One of my own greatest criticisms of my UI is that I have 2-3 pieces of the SAME visual information.  (For example, my earthshield is being tracked in 4 places – see if you can find all 4 and list them in the comment section below).

One of the big steps I took was to turn off my output in scrolling combat text.  I love big green numbers as much as the next guy, but when it adds to visual information overload and makes you miss something important – your healer ePeen is not doing you any favors.

And this is why I love GTFO addon (at curse) by Zensunim.  It redirects important information to my ears, and I love any addons that can do that in a meaningful way.

With so much visual information its often difficult to tell what’s important and what’s not.  GTFO makes 3 different kinds of annoying beeps that are sure to get your attention. (The different beeps distinguish how Bad the BAD is you are standing in.) The most startling one (in a good way) sounds like a shot clock buzzer going off that helps you GTFO that fire you are standing in.

Here’s the description from WowWiki :

GTFO provides an audible alert when you’re standing in something you’re not supposed to be standing in.

And it does exactly, that!  It’s almost constantly has updates and I have yet to come across something in Cataclysm that I need to GTFO that didn’t beep obnoxiously!  I love it.

Save your self the embarrassment of dying to something while staring at Grid squares.  Love the addon even more by getting the fire-walking, meter whoring nubs “situational awareness challenged” in your guild to install it.  You’ll thank me and your mana bar will, too!  You might even find yourself drinking less tequila.

Download it here.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Zensunim permalink
    April 3, 2011 4:15 am

    Thank you for the review!😀 A quick fun-fact for you: The add-on was originally designed to help me fire-tank Illidan because I couldn’t tell if I was standing in resistible fire vs. really bad fire. One day, one of our new healers was having serious trouble seeing the floor AOE in the Illidari Council fight and I decided to extend my mod to help with that fight as well. She went from always being the first one dead to the last and suddenly, the mod took off from there!

    • April 6, 2011 2:50 pm

      No problem, it’s a great addon. Would you be interested in doing an interview so you can talk about GTFO and your other addon projects?

      • Zensunim permalink
        April 8, 2011 8:52 am

        Sure thing! Just e-mail me at my name @gmail.com.

Trackbacks

  1. DIRTY could save you thousands on raid insurance « THE DIRTY GUILD
  2. Is the new resto shaman on your healing team “that” guy? « standinthebluecircle
  3. FAQ’s that you wish THAT guy would ask « standinthebluecircle
  4. Alacran’s Resto Shaman Healer UI « standinthebluecircle
  5. The Rainbow Generator: SiTBC Search Terms of the Week « Stand in the Blue Circle – a Resto Shaman blog
  6. In the Blue Circle: Interview with GTFO author Zensunim « Stand in the Blue Circle – a Resto Shaman blog

Leave a Reply

