Skip to content

Resto Shaman’s One-Hit-Wonder: Fire Elemental Totem

April 6, 2011
WoWScrnShot_040311_225254

Fire and Earth elementals tag-team Cho'gall in a no-holds barred Smack Down.

After Paragon defeated the toughest boss of the Cataclysm expansion without a shaman in their raid makeup, many shaman cried that the sky was falling because we had lost much of our hybrid utility uniqueness and were no longer wanted for raids.  (a)

By that time, I was already quite familiar with being brought to group activities only because they wanted my utility.  That wasn’t so great, either.

In the Burning Crusade, I got taken to the guild’s 5v5 arena matches because of my warrior’s Mortal Strike utility.  They didn’t care what else I did, my job was to keep MS on that kill target!

In Wrath,  my shaman got taken to ToC 10 Insanity runs because I brought Heroism.  And that was only when the enh shaman couldn’t make it.  And like my warrior in TBC, I also always had a secure spot on arena teams thanks to Heroism.

Nowadays, we Resto Shaman still have an incredibly awesome utility ability that perhaps you don’t use very often: Fire Elemental Totem.  We can do 4-5k DPS for 2 minutes for the mana cost equivalent of 1/2 a Healing Rain and a single global cooldown.

Fire Elemental Totem: Summons an elemental totem that calls forth a greater fire elemental to rain destruction on the caster’s enemies.

Even the tooltip is awesome!  This is a utility you won’t get brought for to raids for, but on DPS check fights it can mean the difference between a kill and a wipe. (b)

That’s the kind of utility we can feel good about.

(a) Vixsin explained the entire history and current situation with her post Shaman: Last Vestiges of a Utility Class.

(b) After several 300k wipes I knew we needed just a little more DPS in the final phase.  Check out the damage my Elemental guardian totems did in our first Cho’gall kill here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 1:27 pm

    I think the cataclysm taught us shaman that ‘Utility’ isn’t about pressing one button that no-one else has.

    Fire Elemental is one of those spells that I see a lot more use of, it makes my Resto Shaman less of a healer and more ‘Offensive support’. Its ace

    • April 6, 2011 2:48 pm

      Yes, I agree with you. The addition of the elemental totems in the Burning Crusade was a really fun and appealling reason to roll a shaman. I rolled a troll shaman. :)

      Now if they’d only add a healing frost elemental to help me have that throughput I need in desperate times.

      P.S. Blizz, I’d also settle for an orcish shaman ancestor spirit to aid me. Kind of like that book in Karazhan.

  2. April 8, 2011 2:06 pm

    Personally I wish they would give all healing specs something offensive. The elemental is great but I wish that the smite spec for priests would have worked. Judging when to heal and when to dps would have added another dimension for raiding and provided another skill tier imo.

    • April 8, 2011 2:36 pm

      Priests’ shadow fiend is pretty awesome.

      “Judging when to heal and when to dps” works for us resto shamans at the moment. If properly specced, we can regen mana by doing dps with lightning bolt. Mana management becomes a mini-game of knowing when good moments are to regen a little mana with lightning bolts.

      The DPS is pretty insignificant for the time invested but it’s better than just standing there.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

