Skip to content

Alacran’s Resto Shaman Healer UI

April 1, 2011

Today I’d like o continue yesterdays post of search terms here on SitBC.  Week after week this search term keeps popping up on the site stats tab:

healer UI cataclysm -

I didn’t talk about my resto shaman user interface yesterday because I wanted to dedicate today’s post to it.

Some people have been curious as to what mine looks like.  Enjoy!

Alacran’s Resto Shaman UI – 800×600

I play with 1 GB Ram and don’t use a dedicated video card and it works great for me.  I mean, seriously, what’s so hard about clicking on some little boxes?  As a resto shaman, you don’t need a metric ton of graphic power – just hover mouse cursor over box and click mouse binding for Chain Heal.

So I went a little overboard on my screen resolution.  I say that because it’s a little more taxing on the system but at the same time it gives me plenty of screen space to have all of my information clumped everywhere on the screen:  800×600.

If you turn down the video settings as low as possible, you can get a whole 3 FPS in 10’s raids. (note: 3 max not min.) The disc priest I run with has a Pain Suppression macro with my name on it so there isn’t a problem.  I also use GTFO addon and what might be lagging to my eyes gets picked up quickly by the ears.  People yelling at me on vent helps my reaction time, too.  I can usually backpeddle out of anything in time to not die.  If not, that’s why Shaman have Ankh and druids have Innervate and Battle Rez.  They are meant to be used.

Alacran's Healer UI Cataclysm

Highlights of this 800x600 UI include- Grid, Power Auras for Tracking RT cooldown,

This screenshot was from pre-launch.  You can see – Power Auras, Bartender, Grid, Shields Up, Totem Timers, Shaman Friend, Quartz, DBM and Titan Panel.  In this heroic dungeon, at rest, I was pushing 15 FPS!  WoW!  But who needs that many?

Here’s my healer tip of the week:

The less you spend on your hardware the more money you’ll have to buy your other raid consumable:  Tequila.

If you are interested in downloading this UI, just head to WoWinterface.com and search for Alacran Resto Shaman Healer UI 800×600.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2011 3:42 pm

    There isn’t a fight in game that requires FPS. I understand why people need it. Some people just can’t handle 0 FPS healing as well others. That’s just the way it is. But saying that it’s gimping yourself by not trying to increase your FPS is misleading. There are many people who can heal fine without it.

    Also, there is clearly some space in the middle of the screen which has not been filled. I would suggest enabling both friendly and enemy nameplates and preferably getting a mod to increase them to a much larger size. The redundancy with Grid and your raid frames will ensure that you have 3 different perspectives on the same information, which is important aspect of healing. My current theorycrafting shows that 4.23 layers of redundancy is ideal. (and that anyone who disagrees with me is a jerk).

    • April 1, 2011 4:15 pm

      Oh, Vixsin from Lifeingroup5.com, right? I have seen you post on the forums. Don’t you write about math and other EJ stuff that I can’t even begin to understand?

      I don’t want my comment section to become a huge debate of 0fps vs 60fps, both are valid and both are playstyle choices. This post is just to help people looking to get a good UI to start off with. Let’s just leave it at that.

      However, I do agree with you on visual redundancy. Good healers have the same information in lots of different places to make sure they don’t miss anything.

      your pal,
      Alacran

    • Dedalus permalink
      April 1, 2011 6:46 pm

      “Also, there is clearly some space in the middle of the screen which has not been filled. ”
      You remind me of a screenshot from vanilla where I have really optimized all the space in screen.
      Here it is: http://files.myopera.com/Huuruk/files/Perfect.JPG
      It is not perfect?

      • April 1, 2011 6:53 pm

        Yes, it’s perfect! Where can it be downloaded?

      • Dedalus permalink
        April 1, 2011 8:51 pm

        Is in beta from my glorius prime days. But “soon” we will go in gold phase. I mean, it took 14 years to Duke to have a new game…

  2. April 1, 2011 10:02 pm

    Brilliant !
    I put up the same type of UI to make sure that at all times any of my abilities are not further than 100 pixels away from my current position.
    I’m not a big fan of redundancy (not over 2.7 layers) but I enjoy precision, so I wouldn’t be able to raid with a combat log window smaller than one third of my screen.

    • April 1, 2011 10:29 pm

      You are all cracking me up so much today, it has been a fun Aprils Fools.

      Does anyone have twitter? For example, Ypp sometimes I would prefer to send you a message quickly on twitter instead of these unwieldy comments. I wanted to tell you that I liked your idea about tracking Mandala proc with Power Aura’s as a cue to lightning bolt.

      I was going to add an aura previously to try to sync-up MTT with the Proc but it seemed too complicated and I didn’t want to run into a situation where I was waiting for the trinket ICD duration to drop Mana Tide Totem.

    • April 2, 2011 2:08 pm

      I don’t have Twitter currently, but I’m considering making an account.
      About MTT, since patch 4.0.6 the only trinkets that still account for the spirit bonus are the Jar of ancient remedies and the Tsunami card, plus the Heartsong weapon enchant, Mandala wouldn’t do much. Timing all these is quite impractical (you have to set up an alert for each proc, then another one that checks the activation of all of them + Mana tide usable), but getting a +12k spirit Mana Tide is definitely worth it !
      My next post will be about Power Aura, although much of my setting comes from Wugan pre-Cataclysm..

  3. April 3, 2011 1:36 am

    Oh man…I’m having a ball right now!!

    FUNNY THING though…

    My laptop from 2008 actually does have only 1 GB of RAM.

    And and integrated graphics card.

    And I raided all of BC perfectly fine on it…

    Naxx was OK.

    Ulduar was the instance that said a big “FU CHLOE GET A NEW COMPUTER”

    SO I did, and have happily raided ToC onward with a great desktop. :)

  4. April 7, 2011 9:39 am

    Lol @ Tequila advice :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

