Skip to content

When blizz says all heals they mean “ALL” heals! – Healing Stream buffed on 4.1 PTR

March 29, 2011

On the 4.1 PTR last night, I tested the change to restoration shaman mastery.  The announced change from live 4.06 to 4.1 PTR is that Deep Healing will now affect ALL heals, not only direct heals.

4.06 Heals Not affected by Mastery:

  • Riptide HoT
  • Earthliving HoT
  • Earthshield
  • Healing Stream totem

If you remember, on live 4.06, resto shaman deep healing mastery is not boosting Riptide HoT, Earthliving HoT, Earth Shield, or Healing Stream Totem.  I had previously tested on the 4.1 PTR to see if Deep Healing was now affecting those “indirect” heals.  I concluded that Mastery was indeed now working on 4.1 PTR for ES, Riptide HoT, and EL HoT with the exception of HST not being affected by Deep Healing mastery.

In the old PTR 4.1 build, Healing Stream totem was not affected by Deep Healing

Old 4.1 PTR Heals Not affected by Mastery:

  • Healing Stream totem

 

Today, I bring to you some good news:

Deep healing is now giving the proper increase to Healing Stream totem on the 4.1 PTR.

At 13 mastery, I observed an increase of 35% to Healing Stream totem after falling off Stormwind Keep and taking enough damage to get the “Going Down” achievement.  Here are the screenshots:

 

New 4.1 PTR Test build: On top of Stormwind Keep, combat log showing steady 1471 ticks at full health.

New PTR 4.1 Test build: Jump with ghost wolf to catch extra air. Our goal is to take max fall damage!

New HST test on 4.1 PTR, SW Keep a good spot to get "Going Down?"

 

New 4.1 PTR Heals Not affected by Mastery:

  • none! ;)

4.1 - Healing Stream totem now receives full Deep Healing bonus healing correctly. 1471 -> 1990 ~35%

PTR Surprises – a bug with HST and more UI improvements

I found a small bug with this change, however. HST totem doesn’t get the mastery bonus until its second tick.  It takes one mastery-less tick for it to kick in.  It’s a minor problem and even if it doesn’t get fixed, the new change to HST is nothing to complain about!

Another pleasant surprise on the 4.1 PTR is the newly movable player and target frames.  It’s great for people like me who still use the default UI frames.  You can see I was playing around with it in the above screenshots.

 

The Impact of Deep Healing buff in 4.1

Secondary stats are a hot topic for shamans around forums and the blogosphere.  Life in Group 5, Totem Forest, and Healing with Lazers all talk about them in their latest posts.  (Check side bar for links on Blogroll.) Conventional wisdom around the community has shifted since Cataclysm launch to conclude that Crit is the worst stat, and the current debate is centered on Haste vs. Mastery.

For myself as a 10N resto shaman, I am looking forward to shedding some crit in favor of mastery in the coming Trollpocalypse. Restoration Shaman Mastery will get much more attractive to everyone (raiding both 10′s and 25′s.) Deep Healing will truly affect all heals, including Healing Stream totem.  And thats the impact of 4.1.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 5:38 am

    (Montgomery Burns’ voice) Excellent !

    • March 30, 2011 11:05 pm

      Please write about “chaman restau 4.1″ and “chaman heal a la 4.1″ in French. I’m getting a lot of visits from those search terms. There is a thirst for more PTR news written in French!

      • March 31, 2011 7:38 am

        Well, OK, why not :)
        The tricky part is that I get most of my visits from your blog, so I wonder how this Google ping-pong will work out !

      • March 31, 2011 2:26 pm

        Wow, that was fast. I came into the office in the morning and I saw a new Lazers post from you!

        I was wondering if it would be possible to add a ‘click to translate page’ button on your blogspot blog so that the people who can’t read French could enjoy your blog. I’ll at least try to get around to explaining how I read Healing with Lazers with only a semester of French knowledge and fluent Spanish.

        I have a blogspot blog that I use for teaching English to Spanish speakers and have often wondered how to do it.

      • March 31, 2011 4:21 pm

        Thank you very much for making the effort to read my posts despite the language barrier :)
        One of my main problems is that I tend to be very talkative on some subjects, so I’m definitely not easy to read (even my French co-workers have problems with my vocabulary ^^°)
        The “translate” button is a great idea, but it seems like it’s not that easy with Blogger. I’ll give it a try, but meanwhile I’m afraid you’re stuck with copy/pasting in a web translator :s
        Please bear with it for now and keep sending me such great feedback !

      • March 31, 2011 4:34 pm

        OK, now I feel silly, I found it right after writing this comment. Hit the “add to Blogger” button on this page http://translate.google.com/translate_tools, and enjoy :)

      • March 31, 2011 4:45 pm

        Do me a favor and check my french at the bottom of my new Goblin barbecue post please? I wrote it in Spanish and then Translated with Google traductor to French. I was missing some accents and that messed up the translation. For example if you use the article ‘el’ and you mean to say subject pronoun ‘él’ to say “he” its a very different translation. The difference between il and le I think.

        Thanks so much for the tool, I’m going to add it to my blogspot blog. I’ll have to write up a translation quick reference guide for Resto Shaman. For example maitre is translated as control but it should be mastery. Haste doesn’t translate well and neither does Crit. Mind = Spirit, etc.

      • March 31, 2011 4:50 pm

        Oh yeah that gadget is sexy:
        Qui aurait plutôt pour un professeur d’anglais? I dig it.

      • April 1, 2011 10:52 am

        Bonjour mes amis francophones. Je vous recommande ce lien. Il est le plus merveilleux blogueur français.

        Is that really the auto-translation ? That’s pretty good, indeed, apart from a few context mistakes. “For your consideration” doesn’t translate well in french, it’s deprecated. And I can’t let you write that last sentence, that’s too nice xD

        Thank you very much for your support !

      • April 1, 2011 3:00 pm

        Ah, yes, I remember now the word francophones.

        It’s amazing how much actual knowledge of the target language is needed to do a translation well. Google Translate still has a long way to go!

        You do some good work on your blog and it deserves to be read. Thanks for the help, I learned something new!

  2. Nihilith permalink
    March 31, 2011 4:23 am

    *claps hands excitedly*

    4.1 cannot come soon enough!

Trackbacks

  1. So About that Healing Stream Totem | Totem Forest
  2. Healing Stream Totem in 4.1 « Elemental Entropy
  3. SitBC Sexy Search terms for 24-3-11 to 31-3-11 « standinthebluecircle
  4. [Resto] Raiding 4.1 - Page 2 - Elitist Jerks
  5. From the 4.1 PTR | Totem Forest
  6. [Resto] Raiding 4.1 - Page 3 - Elitist Jerks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

