Skip to content

Resto Shaman Deep Healing tested on 4.1 PTR

March 16, 2011

Character copy from live took less than 1 day. Faction change now available. Goblin, anyone?

 

Yesterday, I was finally able to get onto the 4.1 PTR.  The process has vastly improved since the last time I had been on the PTR back in the Burning Crusade days.

This is due to the speed at which I was able to copy my character and the ability to connect to play while the client is still not finished downloading.

My biggest complaint, however, is that my keybinds, macros, and addons did not copy with my character.  I added another copy of the game to the Curse Client from the Public Test Realm folder and it was named  World of Warcraft 2.

This allowed me to quickly and easily download some essential addons that I would need to ease my testing.  I thought I could try out VuhDo finally since I was starting from a clean addon slate, but quickly switched back to Grid and Clique once I saw how many other essential UI bandaid fixes I would need.

After I finished my resto shaman mastery testing, I had the idea to copy my Interface and WTF folders from my live client and just change the realm name which I have now done but have not since connected to see if that fixed my keybinds, addons, and macros.

Getting these things set up is a priority for me if I am going to be able to do any competent Spirit Link totem testing in 5 or 10 man groups.

Resto Shaman Mastery as seen in 4.1 PTR

Testing PTR changes to Deep Healing

The proposed change to our Deep Healing is that it will now affect ALL heals and not just direct heals as it currently is doing on live (4.06).

According to the list over at Totem Forest, on live, Deep Healing does not affect: Riptide HoT, Earthliving HoT, Earth Shield, nor Healing stream totem.

Many people are taking the tooltip change at its word for ALL heals.  However, my hypothesis was that Healing Stream totem would be the only heal not affected by mastery in 4.1.  Why?  Because on live it is unaffected by haste and crit so there was no reason to believe that mastery would be the exception to the “no secondary stats” rule.

The Results – Resto Shaman mastery change 4.1

I had a blast while testing.  I had preplanned my spot of jumping off the top of SW keep to see if mastery was kicking in on the four indirect heals.  Healing Stream Totem was the easiest to test, I just dropped it before diving off and observed the amount it was overhealing for.  Then, I dropped it again upon landing.

Surprise, surprise. Healing Stream totem unaffected.... still.

In summary,

Shaman Mastery in 4.1 affects

Riptide HoT, Earthliving HoT, and Earth Shield.

As it stands currently on PTR,

Deep Healing in 4.1 DOES NOT affect Healing Stream Totem.


 

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 8:39 am

    Well… It was to be expected, but I can’t help being disappointed by this information.
    Currently I’m not too worried by my performance as a healer (I didn’t raid much since Cata, but consistently topped the meters even before the Purification buff), so I suppose the buff to Earthliving and Riptide will be enough to balance the healing classes.

    • March 17, 2011 4:03 pm

      Thanks for commenting, Ypp.

      Don’t forget earth shield, too! If anything, the change to our mastery makes it easier to determine its worth. It was quite a problem to say, “here’s your mastery, but it’s only good for some of your heals some of the time!” I’ll definitely want to try Blessing of the Eternals and Earthliving prime glyph.

      I don’t really feel underpowered on live either but there are some awkward feeling moments. For example, when healing outside of tidal waves or when allies are spread too far apart.

  2. March 17, 2011 4:11 pm

    Hey there Alacran,

    You recently started Following me on Twitter, so I was inclined to find out more about who you are and what your blog was like. I’m glad that I did!

    I admit that I don’t know very much about shaman, so I wanted to make sure I understood the gist of this post. Are you indicating that your mastery only affects Riptide HoT, Earthliving HoT, and Earth Shield? I know shamans have much more in their toolbox than just those spells and if only those 3 effects were bolstered by your mastery, I would think that would be mighty depressing.

    Please let me know if I misunderstood your post and your findings. I would be interested to know more about this kind of thing.

    Very lovely post, overall.

    🙂

    • March 17, 2011 4:38 pm

      Thanks for the comment and thanks for visiting. I admit I haven’t gotten to “Mirror, Mirror” the morning plug yet. 😦 My comment is a long one and will just make a post on it instead.

  3. March 17, 2011 5:09 pm

    Ha! I don’t expect everyone to read everything I post or plug, though I won’t turn it down, either.

    Were you indicating that you were going to write a post, in response to my question (about what Deep Healing really affects) or in response to my post?

    I was a little confused there.

    • March 17, 2011 8:00 pm

      To your comment, here. I still haven’t gotten to Mirror, Mirror yet because I was replying to you! I sent you a @ mention in twitter.

Trackbacks

  1. Clarification about Deep Healing buff on 4.1 PTR. « standinthebluecircle
  2. When blizz says all heals they mean “ALL” heals! – Healing Stream buffed on 4.1 PTR « standinthebluecircle
  3. Netherhood Welcome Wagon – Stand in the Blue Circle | Twisted Nether Blogcast

Leave a comment