Skip to content

FAQ’s that you wish THAT guy would ask

March 8, 2011

Here is the FAQ to accompany my previous post:

Is the new resto shaman on your healing team “that” guy?
FAQs are good places to start for people who don’t know what questions to ask but are willing to improve.

FAQs for Resto Shaman

Q: Hey Alacran, how should I gem my resto shaman?
A: With as much intellect as you can (while meeting meta requirement). Use the Int + % mana meta gem. It’s ok to ignore socket bonuses for all secondary stats and I sometimes skip the int bonuses if they are 10 or less.

Q: How much haste do I need?
A: We’ll if we were still in Wrath I would tell you “as much as you can get.” But we aren’t in Wrath anymore. So my answer is…

It depends. Are you raiding 10s or 25s? If you are finding this guide helpful, then haste probably isn’t for you. I go for 13% and then get a good mixture of secondary stats (crit, mastery, spirit). Haste stacking has gone the way of the dodo until (if) we get to a situation where we are GCD limited instead of mana limited (and where other stats only lead to more overhealing).

Additionally,

It’s a good idea to have a plethora of alternative gear pieces, trinkets, glyph eraser dust, potions, and flasks in your bag for quick optimization depending on encounter and healing assignment/group makeup.

Q: Can you give me any general advice about resto-shaman?

Heal yourself

"Curate Ipsum", Heal thyself! Inc CH - > Alacran

A: First of all, you gotta stay alive. You can’t heal when dead. At least that’s what the error text tells me.

Heal yourself first, e.g. you can target a chain heal off yourself in heavy AoE situation and benefit from Spark of Life bonus. Major glyph of Stoneclaw can be helpful and if draenei make sure to use Gift of the Naruu.

Don’t tunnel vision grid, you will die in a fire. Pay attention to event timers and heal out of peripheral vision. Practice getting good at moving and positioning.

Other general tips are keep:

  • Riptide on Cooldown,
  • maximize your Tidal Wave usage,
  • AoE heal when it counts,
  • keep water shield up and
  • healing stream down.

What questions do you get asked the most?  What are common mistakes you find when looking at the armory or logs of resto shaman?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 2:40 pm

    I always get asked about gemming and spec. I like telluric currents, but it’s not for everyone, if you dont have time to use it it’s no point having it.

    I see many people copying another spec, maybe find the best geared resto shaman on the realm and go for same as him / her, not taking into consideration that this guy have better gear and possibly another style of playing, which wont suit someone that just started doing heroics. Just for example :)

    • March 10, 2011 3:16 pm

      Thanks for the comment! I have been enjoying your new series of post. Are there going to be 20 days, 20 posts total?

      That’s an idea about the spec question and it’s one I can add in a future post. There isn’t an easy answer for it, that’s why I didn’t include it here. I have a link to my armory on side bar if anyone cares to take a look at my spec and glyphing.

      Another good question I see pop up at different shamans forums is “Is Healing Stream totem worth it or should I be dropping Mana Spring instead?” That will be coming in a future post – most of it is finished in draft already.

  2. March 10, 2011 4:31 pm

    Yup, 20 in total. Feel free to join in :D

    I think it’s nice that you write about not only advanced, but also the simpler questions, like the one with healing vs mana totem. Many players are new to shaman healing, and don’t need a 15 page discussion of mastery. More basic is great for many I think :)

    Keep up good work !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

